Lake Tahoe Wedding Planning

One Fine Blog

How to Obtain a Marriage License in Lake Tahoe


I recently wrote this article for Tahoe Unveiled and since every Tahoe bride and groom needs to know how to obtain a marriage license, I am posting the bits and bobs here too!

Prior to saying your “I do’s” you have to obtain one very important piece of paper – a Marriage License! The main rule of thumb is to apply for the license in the same county as your ceremony location. In the small region that covers Lake Tahoe, there are a total of five counties. To help you find the correct office based on your ceremony county, we have listed the towns and counties below, along with a list of requirements.

Counties

Placer County
Olympic Valley, Tahoe City, Carnelian Bay, Tahoe Vista, Kings Beach, Homewood (the beginning of the west shore), and part of Truckee
Nevada County
Nevada County covers part of Truckee (inquire with your venue to find out if the location falls in Placer County or Nevada County)
El Dorado County
Tahoma and South Lake Tahoe
Washoe County
Incline Village and Reno
Douglas County
Glenbrook, Zephyr Cove, and Stateline

Requirements

* Call in advance to schedule an appointment
* Both the bride and groom must be present
* Government issued identification
* Proof of divorce if previously married
* Cash or check for full payment
* Application is valid for 90 days

Feel free to leave a comment with any questions!

One Comment

  1. Posted July 15, 2011 at 8:20 pm | Permalink

    In addition to being a Tahoe Minister, I am also a Notary who can provide a wedding license for the weddings that I perform. I charge the same price that I purchase them for… $60 for a license and $19 for each certified copy. For a small fee, I can have them FedEx’d to the couple in about a week.

    Ann
    530-412-5436

Post a Comment

We would love to hear your thoughts on this post! Your email will be kept private and never shown publicly. Required fields are marked *

*
*